A little bit about me

I thought I would take a moment to talk about myself…not something I really like doing, but I thought perhaps it would be helpful to those who may stumble upon my blog to understand me.

IMG_2900_20160910_142718

I served in the United States Air Force for 13 years.  I loved almost every minute of it, however, it was difficult to be Active Duty, a mom, and a military spouse.  So I got out, while my husband continued to serve until he retired after 28 years in.  I love to read, although I do tend to go in spurts with my reading, and have a huge pile of books to read. I have my books and reading goals listed at Goodreads and swap books over at paperbackswap.   I am not very crafty, yet I pin a ton of stuff on pinterest that interests me.  I am an Avon Independent Sales Representative…as was my mother and grandmother.  I grew up on the products and love using them. I hate paying more than I should for daily needs items.  I fundraise every year with my Avon business for the Walk to End Alzheimer’s.  My daughter and I will be going for the 4th year this year.  My grandmother had Alzheimer’s and finding a cure for it is something I would love to see in my lifetime.  I got a really great camera a few years ago for Christmas so I have been trying to get out and take photos with it.  I’m not that great, but I have entered some of my photos in challenges at Twenty20.  I’m kind of everywhere on social media…facebook, twitter, instagram, yelp….you name it, I am probably there, although probably not that active in all of them.  I love social media.

I am the eldest of two girls.  My father worked for a major airline for over 40 years and my mother, while mostly being a housewife and mom, was a cosmetologist, although she didn’t work many of the years of our childhood, focusing on raising us.  My husband and I met while stationed at Davis-Monthan Air Force Base, in Tucson, Arizona in 1985.  We have been married 31 years, and have two children, a daughter and a son, who are both grown.  We also have two German Shepherd Dogs who I take a lot of photos of.

In a nutshell…that’s me!

Leave a Reply

